21-year-old gets 4.5 years, 300,000-yen fine in Okayama fraud-cannabis case
A 21-year-old convicted of defrauding an elderly person of 1.5 million yen and possessing cannabis in Okayama Prefecture was sentenced to 4.5 years in prison and a 300,000-yen fine. The Hiroshima High Court's Okayama branch vacated the May verdict on 28 October 2026 after prosecutors appealed its failure to set a workhouse detention term for the fine.
🇯🇵 Okayama, Okayama Prefecture · Japan
- Charged
- 1
- Prison
- 4 years 6 months
- Fine
- JPY 300,000
The defendant, aged 21, was charged with defrauding an elderly person in Okayama
Prefecture of 1.5 million yen in cash and with possessing cannabis elsewhere in
the same prefecture.[1] In May, the Okayama District Court sentenced him to 4
years and 6 months in prison and a 300,000-yen fine.[1] Prosecutors appealed,
arguing that the failure to set a detention term was an error in the application
of the law.[1]
It emerged on the 29th that the district court had imposed the fine without
declaring the period of detention in a workhouse if the fine could not be paid
in full.[1] On the 28th, the Okayama branch of the Hiroshima High Court
vacated the first-instance judgment and issued a guilty judgment that set the
workhouse detention period.[1]
Under the Criminal Code, a person who cannot fully pay a fine is detained in a
workhouse, and the detention period must be declared when the fine is imposed.[1] 労役場留置, rendered here as workhouse detention, refers to that detention in a
labour facility for non-payment of a fine.[1]
Sources
- 岡山地裁「労役場留置」宣告漏れ 高裁が一審判決破棄:山陽新聞デジタル|さんデジ. 山陽新聞デジタル|さんデジ, 29 October 2026. In Japanese.
Open questions the AI reported
- No amount, form, or circumstances of the cannabis possession were published.
- No separate dates were published for the fraud, the cannabis possession, or an arrest; only May is given for the first-instance sentence.
- The length of the workhouse detention period set by the high court was not stated.
- Whether the high court's new guilty judgment changed the prison term or fine beyond adding the detention period was not stated.
- 28 October 2026 is inferred as the high court decision date from 28日 alongside the 29 October 2026 publication date.
- Only one account of this case was available; no second report confirming or adding facts was found.
- The page's only image shows the Okayama District Court building exterior and does not depict the offence, arrest, seizure, or hearing, so no media entry is listed.