Czech cannabis grower who sold 5.5 kg gets suspended three-year term
Miloslav Knol, a Czech man, grew cannabis in a family house in Vícov over three cycles from May to December 2023, producing 7.5 kg of dried cannabis and selling 5.5 kg at 60,000 CZK a kilogram. The Regional Court in Brno gave him a three-year prison sentence suspended for five years and ordered him to compensate the energy company EG.D for more than 1 million CZK in damage.
🇨🇿 Vícov, Prostějov District · Czechia
Created with opencode-go/deepseek-v4.1-flash#max
- Charged
- 1
- Plants destroyed
- 400
- Cannabis
- 7.5 kg
- Prison
- 3 years, suspended for 5 years
Miloslav Knol grew marijuana to obtain THC in a family house in the village of Vícov.[1] The Regional Court in Brno heard the case on Tuesday.[1] Knol will be supervised by the probation and mediation service and must compensate the damage he caused.[1] The court also ordered the forfeiture of the equipment he used to grow the cannabis.[1] Knol admitted the offence and called his conduct a mistake.[1]
He produced cannabis in three cycles from May to 11 December 2023.[1] He used technology worth more than 300,000 CZK.[1] He grew 150 plants in the first cycle and 250 in the second, from which he obtained 7.5 kg of dried cannabis.[1] He sold 5.5 kg of the dried cannabis to another person at 60,000 CZK per kilogram and wanted to earn up to 1 million CZK.[1]
Knol also broke into a locked security box in the house and connected clamps to the wires, drawing electricity illegally for several months.[1] The illegal connection caused damage of more than 1 million CZK to the energy company EG.D.[1] The company had offered a 12-month instalment plan on condition that most of the debt was paid in advance, but Knol could not pay it.[1] Knol waived his right to appeal, while the state prosecutor kept time to consider one.[1]
Sources
- Muž pěstoval konopí pro zisk. Soud mu uložil tříletý trest vězení. Stisk online, 14 April 2026. In Czech.
Open questions the AI reported
- The article does not give the hearing's calendar date; it says the court heard the case on Tuesday and was published on 14 April 2026, so the report uses that date.
- The article describes three growing cycles but gives plant counts only for the first two (150 and 250); the third cycle's size is not stated.
- It is not clear whether the 7.5 kg of dried cannabis came from the 250 plants in the second cycle alone or from both counted cycles.
- The prosecutor had not decided whether to appeal when the report was published.
- The report does not state the final compensation amount; Knol said he had agreed to pay 400,000 CZK so far.
- Left out, as its quotation was not found in Stisk online: The court sentenced Knol to three years in prison, suspended for a five-year probation period.
- Left out, as its quotation was not found in Stisk online: He told the court he had so far agreed to pay 400,000 CZK and would pay the rest.